HUNTED

Creation Aire de Jeu 2015 – Les Subsistances, Lyon
By Maud Le Pladec and Okwui Okpokwasili with the music of Kalevi Aho

Press
Download the file

Performance in English, supertitled in French

For her third experience participating in the Aire de Jeu festival, Maud Le Pladec has chosen to respond to her invitation from Les Subsistances by extending her own invitation to the performer and choreographer Okwui Okpokwasili to co-write a project.

Hunted is an incantatory project, a chant in which American performer Okwui Okpokwasili wields words, lyrics, singing and bodies to the music of Kalevi Aho. The piece invokes witch figures such as Medea, the Macbeth witches, Mary Wigman, Valeska Gert, Tatsumi Hijikata or even stirrers such as Nanny and the members of the collective W.I.T.C.H. (…). Hunted offers a hybrid of storytelling and “neo-paganistic” ritual. Okwui Okpokwasili embodies a vocabulary drawing her source in folklore and political language – a presence straddling reality and superstition uniting with the music of Kalevi Aho.

Hunted was inspired by the book, Witches: Hunted, Appropriated, Empowered, Queered by Anna Colin, which accompanied the project “Plus ou moins sorcières” (More or Less Witches), a cycle of exhibits, projections performances and conferences presented in 2012 at Maison Populaire in Montreuil.

Conception: Maud LE PLADEC, Okwui OKPOKWASILI
Texts, songs and interpretation: Okwui OKPOKWASILI
Lights: Nicolas MARC
Costumes: Alexandra BERTAUT
Voice training : Dalila KHATIR
Musicians on live : Jean-Etienne SOTTY, Fanny VICENS
On a music by : Kalevi AHO
Accordion sonata n 2, black birds,
II “birds of the night” ;

I “birds of light” ;
V “black birds”; 
IV “birds of desolation”
arranges for two accordions by Jean-Etienne Sotty et Fanny Vicens

PRODUCTION Léda

COPRODUCTION Les Subsistances, Lyon

WITH THE SUPPORT OF Ministère de la Culture – DRAC Bretagne au titre des compagnies conventionnées, de la Région Bretagne, de la Ville de Rennes

HUNTED

Création Aire de Jeu 2015, Les Subsistances, Lyon
Par Maud Le Pladec et Okwui Okpokwasili sur une musique de Kalevi Aho, 

Presse
Télécharger le dossier

Spectacle en anglais surtitré en français

Pour sa troisième participation au festival Aire de Jeu, Maud Le Pladec a choisi de répondre à l’invitation des Subsistances en invitant à son tour la performeuse et chorégraphe Okwui Okpokwasili à coécrire un projet.

Hunted est un projet incantatoire, une mélopée dans laquelle la performeuse américaine Okwui Okpokwasili manie paroles, textes, chants, corps et la musique de Kalevi Aho. Invoquant ici les figures de sorcières, à la fois inspirée par les personnages mythiques de Médée, les sorcières de Mac Beth, Mary Wigman, Valeska Gert, Tatsumi Hijikata, ou encore les agitatrices telles que Nanny, les membres du collectif W.I.T.C.H (…). Hunted propose une forme hybride entre storytelling et rituel “neo-paganiste”. Okwui Okpokwasili incarne un vocabulaire puisant sa source dans le folklore et la parole politique. Une présence entre réel et superstition faisant corps avec la musique de Kalevi Aho.

Hunted a été inspiré par l’ouvrage intitulé “Sorcières pourchassées, assumées, puissantes, queer” d’Anna Colin, qui accompagne le projet “Plus ou moins sorcières“, cycle d’expositions, de projections, de performances et de conférences présenté en 2012 à la Maison Populaire de Montreuil.

Conception : Maud LE PLADEC, Okwui OKPOKWASILI
Texte, chanson et interprétation : Okwui OKPOKWASILI
Lumières : Nicolas MARC
Costumes : Alexandra BERTAUT
Répétition voix : Dalila KHATIR
Musiciens live : Jean-Etienne SOTTY, Fanny VICENS
Sur une musique de : Kalevi AHO
Accordion sonata n 2, black birds,
II “birds of the night” ;

I “birds of light” ;
V “black birds”; 
IV “birds of desolation”
arrangée pour deux accordéons par Jean-Etienne Sotty et Fanny Vicens

PRODUCTION Léda

COPRODUCTION Les Subsistances, Lyon

AVEC LE SOUTIEN du Ministère de la Culture – DRAC Bretagne au titre des compagnies conventionnées, de la Région Bretagne, de la Ville de Rennes